For Immediate Release: January 29, 2015
Contact: Renee Rybak Lang,, 703-740-4841

Nebraska State Board Member Molly O’Holleran Chairs NASBE Government Affairs Committee

Alexandria, VA – The National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE) is pleased to announce that Nebraska State Board of Education member Molly O’Holleran has been appointed chairperson of its Government Affairs Committee.

“This will be an important year for education policy on the federal level. NASBE’s Government Affairs Committee will take a leadership role in ensuring that the state voice is heard on Capitol Hill,” says NASBE Executive Director Kristen Amundson. “We are delighted that Ms. O’Holleran is leading this effort on behalf of state board of education members across the country.”

NASBE’s Government Affairs Committee (GAC) provides a forum for discussing the most pressing federal education issues, including those that have garnered attention in a number of states. The GAC recommends to the NASBE Board of Directors what the organization’s response should be on various federal issues, ensuring recommendations align to NASBE’s mission and public education positions. In the past, the committee has explored and, as needed, issued positions on ESEA reauthorization, other federal assessment requirements, E-rate, student data privacy, early childhood education, and student discipline guidance.

“So many of the issues Capitol Hill is grappling with this year will have an impact on state policymaking,” says O’Holleran. “I respect the time and money boards of education and school districts invest to create and implement accountability for quality education systems in a fiscally responsible way. As the 2015 GAC chair, I’ll work to ensure the interests of state boards are a key part of important legislative discussions.”

The National Association of State Boards of Education represents America’s state and territorial boards of education. Our principal objectives are to strengthen state leadership in education policymaking; advocate equality of access to educational opportunity; promote excellence in the education of all students; and assure responsible lay governance of education. Learn more at