check
Requirements for School Social Workers

Alaska

Last Updated: 12/12/2012

Pre-service Requirement: 04 AAC 12.365 (2005) requires anyone employed to provide related services in school social work must possess a Type C certificate in the field of employment. 04 AAC 12.300 (2006) outlines the requirements of a bachelor's degree, recommendation by the preparing institution, completion of a teacher education program, and completion of 3 semester hours of Alaska studies and 3 semester hours in multicultural education or cross-cultural communications for a Type A certificate. 04 AAC 12.355 (2011) requires an applicant must complete a program in the special services area, possess a bachelor's degree, and is recommended by the preparing institution for a Type C special services certificate.

Professional Development Requirement: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Alabama

Last Updated: 8/21/2008

Pre-service Requirement: None specified.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Arkansas

Last Updated: 9/8/2010

Pre-service Requirement: None specified.

Professional Development: No state policy.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: No specific ratio, but Code 6-18-1005 (2003) does include social work services in student services programs.


Arizona

Last Updated: 3/4/2009

Pre-service Requirement: Minimum of a bachelor's degree in Social Work. The local education agency determines licensing requirements.

Professional Development Requirement: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


California

Last Updated: 5/12/2008

Pre-service Requirement: California Code of Regulations Title 5, Division 8, Chapter 4, Article 2, 80632(C) (1989) credits successful completion of a program for the school counselor specialization to be a minimum of 45 semester or 60 quarter units; or 675 classroom hours of post baccalaureate study. Specifics of licensures are outlined in 80632.3 (1989) of the same article.

Professional Development Requirement: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Colorado

Last Updated: 8/31/2009

Pre-service Requirement: Per Statute 22-60.5-201 (2004) and State Board of Education Regulation 2260.5-R-3.02 (2004), at least an initial special services license is required for to be a school social worker. State Board of Education Regulation 2260.5-R-11.07 (2004) requires a minimum of a master's degree in social work from an accepted institution of higher education, coursework in school and special education law. A candidate is also required to have either passed the National School Social Worker examination, passed the Colorado Assessment for Licensed Clinical Social Workers or Colorado State Board of Education-adopted assessment for school social worker, or completed a 900-hour supervised practicum in social work and have at least one field experience with school aged children. A school social worker must also demonstrate knowledge and proficiency in eight specified areas.

Professional Development: For an initial license holder, State Board of Education Regulation 2260.5-R-12.01 (2004) requires steps towards completing the requirements for a professional license every 3 years until completed. State Board of Education Regulation 2260.5-R-12.02 (2004) requires six semester hours of 90 clock hours of professional development every five years for professional license renewal.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Connecticut

Last Updated: 12/16/2010

Pre-service Requirement: Regulations 10-145d-559 and 560 (2003) requires school social workers to have a master's degree in social work from a school of social work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education and have completed at least 36 clock hours of study in special education. As of 2012, school social workers will also be required to have taken a three-credit course focused specifically on practices in the school setting, and will be required to have performed 300 hours of internship in a school setting.

Professional Development: As professional educators", school social workers must meet the same requirements for professional development as teachers in Regulation 10-145d-417, which requires 90 hours of professional education every five years for re-certification.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


District of Columbia

Last Updated: 4/22/2013

Pre-service Requirement: Rule: 5-E1660 (1993) requires a masters degree in social work, a valid license to practice social work in the District of Columbia, a field practicum and one year of paid professional experience, post master’s degree, in a setting providing direct services to individuals and groups of school age children and their families. It also specifies required program coursework and skills.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Delaware

Last Updated: 12/20/2008

Pre-service Requirement: Administrative Code 14:1584 (2004) requires a minimum of a master's degree in social work from a regionally accredited college or university with two years of successful full-time work as a social worker and either one year of supervised experience in a school setting or a one year, 1000 hour supervised internship approved by the Department of Education.

Professional Development: 90-clock hours of professional development every five years are required for re-licensure per the 14:1511. Of these 90 hours, 45 must be activities that relate to the school social worker's work with students or staff.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Florida

Last Updated: 3/30/2013

Pre-service Requirement: At a minimum, for certification specializing in school social work for grades PK-12, a candidate must have a bachelor's degree or higher with an undergraduate or graduate major in social work. Details are outlined in State Board of Education Administrative rule 6A-4.035 (1996).

Professional Development: State Board of Education Administrative rule 6A-4.0051 (2004) provides the guidelines for renewal of a professional certificate which includes completion of six (6) semester hours of college credit or the equivalent or earning in-service training points. 

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: No state policy.


Georgia

Last Updated: 3/22/2010

Pre-service Requirement: PSC Rule 505-2-.119 (2004), per PSC Rule 505-2-.03 (2004), requires a master of social work degree from a Professional Standards Commission approved program and institution and completion of the content knowledge assessments and Special Georgia Requirements [PSC Rule 505-2-.20 (2005)]. The Special Georgia Requirements include an FBI background check, completion of study or experience within five years of application, and computer competency.

Professional Development: State Board of Education Rule 160-3-3-.04 (2003) requires each school system to develop a three-year professional learning plan to be included in the school system's CSIP. This learning plan shall organize and direct all professional learning activities regardless of program or funding. State Board of Education Rule 160-3-3-.10 (2003) elaborates further, requiring school systems to offer professional development programs for PLUs, aimed at improvement in assessed areas of need.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: The School Social Work Service program overview, per State Board of Education Rule 160-5-1-.22 (2000), requires each school system to employ one full-time school social worker per 2,475 students.


Hawaii

Last Updated: 7/9/2008

Pre-service Requirement: Although a policy is not specified, the state reports that a master's in social work degree from an accredited university is required.

Professional Development: Hawaii Teacher Standards Board license requires PD points to maintain status.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Iowa

Last Updated: 10/31/2011

Pre-service Requirement: 282 IAC 15.3(15) (2004) requires a master's degree in social work from an accredited school of social work, which must include at least 20 credit hours in six specific areas in the fields of social work and education. A school social worker must also have completed an approved human relations component and have training that contributes to the education of students with gifts and talents and those with disabilities. 282 IAC 17.5 (2005) requires six credits of graduate or undergraduate credit from a regionally accredited institution which adds greater depth/breadth to the school social worker endorsement or leads toward a doctoral degree. Code 154C.3 (2003) also requires all social workers to renew their licenses biennially by participating in continuing education activities.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Idaho

Last Updated: 2/25/2013

Pre-service Requirement: Idaho State Board of Education Rule 08, Title 02, Chapter 02 (2009) requires school social workers to possess a social work certificate issued by the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses and receive an institutional recommendation from an accredited college or university. In addition, a candidate must complete one of the following:  (1) A masters degree in social work from an Idaho college or university approved by the State Board of Education, (2) A masters degree in social work from an out-of-state college or university, or (3) A master's degree in guidance and counseling, sociology, or psychology plus thirty (30) semester credit hours of graduate work in social work education, including coursework understanding the individual, casework method, field placement, social welfare programs and community resources, and research methods.

Professional Development
: State Board of Education Rule 08, Title 02, Chapter 02 (2009) requires six semester credit hours to be completed every five years for endorsement renewal.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Illinois

Last Updated: 9/2/2009

Pre-service Requirement::State Board of Education 23 Administrative Code Ch. 1-a, Section 1.760 requires school social workers to hold a Type 10 or 73 Certificate, which requires a candidate to have a master's degree in social work, with a specialization in school social work, from a Council on Social Work Education accredited program and pass the relevant content and basic skills tests as outlined in State Board of Education 23 Administrative Code Ch. 1-b, Section 23.140 (2002).

Professional Development: State Board of Education 23 Administrative Code Ch. 1-b, Section 23.140 requires school social workers to participate in professional development as a competency for employment.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Indiana

Last Updated: 12/1/2010

Pre-service Requirement: In order to practice as a school social worker in Indiana, it is important to know that school social work is a dual-loicensed profession. Requirements are as follows: (1) MSW degree, with a school social work concentration, from an accredited university (IAC 511 4), (2) The Student Services License obtained from the Indiana Department of Education Office of Educator Licensing and Development (OELD) 515 IAC 8-1-48, (3) The LSW or LCSW social work license obtained from the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (IPLA) IC 25-23.6-4.2.

The Standards for School Social Work Professionals (1998) also provide a detailed list of qualities, attributes, and skills required as a licensed school counselor.

Professional Development: The Indiana Department of Education 5 year Proficient School Services License must be renewed every 5 years. There are three options for renewing the five year Proficient Practitioner License for school social workers:

  • Completing a Professional Growth Plan (PGP)
  • Submission of official transcripts listing completion of six semester hours of college or university coursework.
  • Valid copy of the OPLA license.

Student-to-Social Workers Ratio: State Board of Education 511 IAC 4-1.5-2 (2000) recommends that there be one master's level student services professional per 700 students in the corporation.


Kansas

Last Updated: 7/9/2008

Pre-service Requirement: As required by the State Behavioral Science Regulatory Board.

Professional Development: As required by the State Behavioral Science Regulatory Board.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: No state policy.


Kentucky

Last Updated: 5/22/2013

Pre-service Requirement: 16 KAR 2:070 (2003) requires a minimum of a master's of social work with either a cumulative GPA of 2.50 on a 4.00 scale or a minimum GPA of 3.00 on a 4.00 scale on the last 60 hours of undergraduate and graduate coursework completed. Accreditation by the Council on Social Work Education and completion of an approved program of preparation for school social worker are also required.

Professional Development: Standard 5 of the Standards of Professional Development (2004) and KRS 158.070 (2004) require school social workers, who are considered professional staff, to undergo four days of professional development each year based on individual professional growth plans.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Louisiana

Last Updated: 7/9/2008

Pre-service Requirement: For a provisional certificate in School Social Work, a candidate must hold a Professional Graduate Social Work Certificate and work under the supervision of a Licensed Clinical Social Worker for a minimum of 1 hour per week. The school social worker must hold a license as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker OR hold a certificate as a Graduate Social Worker, must be supervised for a minimum of 1 hour per week, and have work experience in one or more of the social work practice settings outlined in the bulletin or have graduate work experience in the setting outlined in the bulletin plus 2 years of work experience. Details of the requirements are outlined in Bulletin 746 (2001).

Professional Development: No state policy.

Student-to- Social Worker Ratio: RS 17:29 (2003) requires each local public school identified as failing to employ a full-time social worker.


Massachusetts

Last Updated: 7/9/2008

Pre-service Requirement: An initial license, per General Law 71.38G and 603 CMR 7.11 (2004), requires a master's degree in social work or counseling, course work and clinical experience in nine specified areas, a 900 hour practicum, 450 of which must have been working with children, adolescents, and families in an educational setting, and a passing score on the Communications and Literacy Skills test.

Professional Development Per General Law 71.38G (2004), relevant professional development plan that meets board requirements for subject matter knowledge and teaching skills is required to be completed every 5 years for re-certification.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.

 


Maryland

Last Updated: 9/15/2010

Pre-service Requirement: Code 6-704 (2004) requires both the State Board and the Board to develop rules and regulations for the certification of social workers employed by a local school. State Board of Education Regulation 13a.12.03.11 (2005) established certification requirements for school social workers.

Professional Development: Maryland has no specific state policy for the professional development of school social workers. However, Code 7-504 (1996) establishes standards and policies for the training of school personnel, and others responsible for counseling or supervising student activities, in suicide prevention.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: No state policy.


Maine

Last Updated: 3/20/2009

Pre-service Requirement: Statute Title 20-A 4008 (1989) requires a school social worker to possess a bachelor of arts and a conditional license from the State Board of Social Worker Licensure.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Michigan

Last Updated: 12/20/2012

Pre-service Requirement: Pre-service Requirement: The minimum requirements for approval as a school social worker, a candidate must possess a master's degree from a state board-approved graduate school of social work program. Full approval may only be achieved after the satisfactory completion of 1 year in the school district. Details of the requirements are found in State Board of Education Rule R 340.1012 (1979).

Professional Development: No state policy. Continuing education exists to ensure that social workers remain up-to-date in the profession and are being trained in 21st century social work practices. Every "licensed" Michigan Social Worker is required to obtain 45 continuing education contact hours every three years in order to maintain an active license.
 
Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: No state policy. However, No Child Left Behind recommends one-master’s-degreed-school-social-worker-to-800-students ratio; the School Social Work Association of America recommends one master's-degreed social worker per 400 students).

LMSWs employed by school districts must meet the employment requirements for school social workers in the Revised School Code.
 

Minnesota

Last Updated: 9/4/2009

Pre-service Requirement: State Board of Education Rule 8710.6300 (2003) requires a candidate for licensure as a school social worker to hold a baccalaureate or master's degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education and be currently licensed in Minnesota to practice as a social worker under the Board of Social Work.

Professional Development: State Board of Education Rule 8710.7100 (2003) requires all teachers to obtain 125 hours of continuing education in their field every five years for re-licensure.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: No state policy.


Missouri

Last Updated: 8/25/2008

Pre-service Requirement: No state policy.

Professional Development: Revised Statute 161.092 (2003), as reflected in standard 6.7 of the Missouri School Improvement Program (2001), recommends school districts provide substantial time and resources for professional development of all staff members.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: No state policy.


Mississippi

Last Updated: 9/16/2010

Pre-service Requirement: The state does not have a policy specifically outlining the requirements for a school social worker. For licensure as a social worker in the state, a candidate must: provide verification of a baccalaureate degree in social work from a college or university accredited by Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) or Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) and scored a minimum of 70 on the ASWB basic exam. Social Work Licensing provides further details.

Professional Development Requirement: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: The Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards (Process Standard 6.2) requires students in elementary schools to have access to qualified student support personnel, which include guidance counselors, social workers, nurses, psychologists, and others.


Montana

Last Updated: 12/19/2012

Pre-service Requirement: In order to practice in Montana, including providing services in schools, a social worker must be licensed by the Montana Board of Social Work Examiners and Professional Counselors. ARM 24.291.504 and MCA 37-22-301 detail the licensure requirements for social workers. State Board of Public Education Administrative Rule 10.57.501 (2002) requires a teaching license for the appropriate level of education if they are teaching in a classroom setting.

Professional Development: No state policy. State Board of Public Education Administrative Rule 10.57.501 does require social workers teaching in a classroom setting to undergo the same professional development as a regular teacher.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


North Carolina

Last Updated: 5/21/2009

Pre-service Requirement: The State Board of Education requires the completion of an approved school social work program at the bachelor's degree level at a regionally accredited college or university.

Professional Development: The State Board of Education requires 10 semester hours or 15 units of renewal credit of course work directly related to social work is required every five years for license renewal.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: Part III of North Carolina's Basic Education Plan for Public Schools (1994) requires there to be one social worker for every 2,500 students in a school district.


North Dakota

Last Updated: 7/9/2008

Pre-service Requirement: No state policy.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Nebraska

Last Updated: 7/9/2008

Pre-service Requirement: None specified.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


New Hampshire

Last Updated: 12/22/2011

Pre-service Requirement: State Board of Education Rule Ed 507.14 (2004) requires social workers to have at least a bachelor's degree in social work from a college or university approved by the New Hampshire post secondary education commission.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


New Jersey

Last Updated: 9/10/2009

Pre-service Requirement: School social workers are required to have a minimum of a master's degree from a regionally accredited college or university and have completed 30 credit hours in eight areas of study, described in detail in State Board of Education Administrative Code 6A:9-13.5 (2004).

School social workers may be employed as a substance awareness coordinator per State Board of Education Administrative Code N.J.A.C. 6A:9-13.2.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: No state policy. However, N.J.S.A. 6A:14-3.1 requires child study teams to include a school social worker.


New Mexico

Last Updated: 3/18/2011

Pre-service Requirement:  6.63.7 NMSA, establishes the requirements for 3 levels of school social work (1) Level 1, entry level school social worker, (2) Level 2, school social worker and (3) Level 3, independent school social worker. Details of these requirements are within this rule. In order to work in a school setting, all staff in this area must also complete a licensure application for a PED license.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student to Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Nevada

Last Updated: 9/9/2009

Pre-service Requirement: State Board of Education Administrative Code 391.320 (1991) requires a current license issued by the board of examiners for social workers and either the completion of a school social worker program approved by the State Board of Education, a school social work certificate from the National Association of Social Workers, or a master's degree in social work and the completion of a school social work education program with practicum in schools.

Professional Development: For renewal of the social work endorsement, State Board of Education Administrative Code 391.320 (1991)  requires school social workers to complete at least six semester hours in education or an equal amount of credit for in-service work relating to school social work. School social workers must also maintain their state social work license. 

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


New York

Last Updated: 9/16/2009

Pre-service Requirement: Commissioner of Education's Regulation 80-2.3 requires a minimum of a bachelor's degree, 30 graduate credits leading to a master's in social work, and completion of a supervised college internship for a provisional certificate as a school social worker. In addition to these requirements, a permanent certificate requires completion of a masters degree in social work or equivalent degree, two years of school experience in pupil personnel services and licensing as a master social worker or clinical social worker.

Professional Development Requirement: None specified. 

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Ohio

Last Updated: 7/9/2008

Pre-service Requirement: OAC 3301-24-05 (2003) requires school social workers to hold a professional pupil services license, which allows them to work children of any grade level. Minimally, a candidate must be of good moral character, have a master's degree in social work, a current social worker's license from the Ohio counselor and social worker board, and either have one year of successful experience in a chartered school or school district under a professional license, one year of successful experience as a licensed Ohio social worker, or have completed a 10 week graduate social work practicum in a chartered school or school district.

Professional Development: ORC 3319.073 (1995) requires the board of education to develop a 4-hour in-service training program in child abuse prevention for all elementary school district employees and service center work.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: No state policy.


Oklahoma

Last Updated: 5/4/2009

Pre-Service Requirement: The Competencies for Licensure & Certification (2002) requires a minimum of a master's degree, a state license, and completion of a specified course of study outlined by the State Department of Education.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Oregon

Last Updated: 7/14/2008

Pre-service Requirement: None specified.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Pennsylvania

Last Updated: 9/28/2010

Pre-service Requirement: Home & school visitors (school social workers) require an Educational Specialist's Certificate. 022 PA Code 49.102 (1999) states that an Educational Specialist I Certificate will be issued to those applicants who have successfully completed a Department of Education approved educational specialist preparation program, have satisfactorily achieved in the prescribed assessments (see 022 PA Code 354.33 (2000) for specifics), and has the college or university preparing program's recommendation.

Home & School Visitor certification requires at least a bachelor's degree in a clearly articulated program that requires demonstration of knowledge in five areas for coordinating and implementing social services for grades K-12. Candidates are also required to have a minimum of 360 hours of field experiences and a practicum. Finally, the candidate must also exhibit knowledge and competency that fosters professionalism in four specific areas.

Professional Development: Act 48 (1999) requires professional educators to complete 6 credits of collegiate study, 6 credits of continuing education courses, and 180 hours of continuing professional education programs, activities, or learning experiences every 5 years for maintenance of licensure.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: 022 PA Code 7.14 (1987) and 022 PA Code 7.2 (1987) require home and school visitors services (school social work services).


Rhode Island

Last Updated: 1/30/2013

Pre-Service Requirement: TheRegulations Governing the Certification of Educators in Rhode Island (effective January 1, 2012) details a comprehensive redesign of the certification system that updates the requirements and procedures that govern educator certification in Rhode Island.  Specific details of the Rhode Island School Social Worker Certificate are outlined in School Social Worker. The School Social Worker Certificate is valid for assignment as a School Social Worker in grades PK - 12 in Rhode Island public schools. Applicants prepared in a program where the language of instruction was not English must achieve a passing score of 64 on the Versant Pro Speaking and Writing assessments. 

See Certification Tests - Effective September 1, 2013.

Professional Development: See the RI Professional Teacher Standards, RI Standards for Educational Leadership, and RI Code of Professional Responsibilities. As per the Regulations Governing the Certification of Educators in Rhode Island, professional development is embedded in the state approved local evaluation system requirement that all educators receive annual evaluation ratings and professional growth plans. The social worker must also maintain their state social worker's license.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: Board of Regents Regulations for Elementary & Secondary Education Governing the Education of Children With Disabilities (2010) requires a school district with 2,500 students enrolled in public and non-public schools and children ages three to five must employ one full-time social worker or equivalent per 2,500 students. If the population of enrolled students falls between even multiples of 2,500, an additional part-time school social worker is to be employed.


South Carolina

Last Updated: 7/9/2008

Pre-service Requirement: Code 40-63-30 (no date available) requires all social workers to be state licensed. A Baccalaureate Social Worker, per Code 40-63-220 (no date available), must have a bachelor's degree in social work from a nationally accredited social work program, be at least 21 years old, be of good moral character, and successfully passed an exam prescribed by the licensing board. Details for licensure are also outlined in the South Carolina Teacher Certification Manual (2003).

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: The Safe Schools Task Force Report recommends a 500:1 ratio.

Professional Development Requirement: None specified.


South Dakota

Last Updated: 9/17/2009

Pre-Service Requirement: A preschool to grade 12 school social work education program shall require a master's degree in social work, which includes specific coursework outlined in Administrative Rule 24:53:09:05 (2008) and completion of a supervised internship in a social work for a period of one semester.

Professional Development: Requirements must be related to preparation standards in article 24:16 and be completed between the date of issuance of the current valid certificate and the application for renewal per Administrative Rule 24:15:03:06 (2005).

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Tennessee

Last Updated: 11/4/2008

Pre-service RequirementTennessee Licensure Standards and Induction Guidelines (2005) requires prospective school social workers to have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education and have the joint recommendation of the college/department of education and the college/department of social work. Further details on licensure are found within this policy.

Professional Development: None specified. 

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Texas

Last Updated: 10/1/2010

Pre-service Requirement: Education Code 21.003 (1995) requires a school social worker to be certified by the proper state agency.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Utah

Last Updated: 2/8/2012

Pre-service Requirement: The minimum requirements for a basic certificate as a school social worker are the completion of an approved master's degree, demonstration of competence in the given areas, completion of an internship in a school setting, and received approval by an institution. Details of the requirements are found in R277-506.5 (1996).

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Virginia

Last Updated: 11/16/2010

Pre-service Requirement: 8VAC20-21-630 (1998) requires a master's in social work from an accredited school of social work with a minimum of 60 graduate semester hours. Also required are six graduate semester hours in education and either a completed supervised practicum or field experience of 400 clock hours discharging duties as a school social worker or one year of full-time supervised experience as a school social worker.

Professional Development: 8VAC20-21-100 (2002) requires 180 professional development points within a five-year period based on an individualized professional development plan for license renewal.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Vermont

Last Updated: 10/4/2010

Pre-service Requirement: Board Rules 5441 and 5445, 5440-54 (2005) require school social workers to have at least a bachelor's degree in social work and have completed a 600-hour supervised internship in a school setting, with 180 of those hours being spent doing field work at the elementary (60 hours), middle/junior high (60 hours), and senior high (60 hours) levels. An applicant must also demonstrate knowledge and skills in eight specific school social working areas.

Professional Development: None specified.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Washington

Last Updated: 7/9/2008

Pre-service Requirement: WAC 181-79A-221 (2004) requires, for initial certification, that the candidate have completed all requirements for a master's degree in social work, excepting for any special projects or theses that may be required. The candidate must also have successfully completed a written comprehensive exam of the knowledge included in the course work required for the master's degree. The exam may be from a regionally accredited institution of higher learning, the social worker examination from the Academy of Certified Social Workers, or the Nation Teacher Examination. The School Social Worker Specialty Area exam is required for certification as a school social worker by the National Association of Social Workers. 

Professional Development: WAC 392-192-030 (1990) requires all local school districts to adopt a professional growth program for certified classroom teachers and support personnel unless a collective bargaining agreement provides otherwise.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Wisconsin

Last Updated: 7/9/2008

Pre-service Requirement: Code PI 34.31 (2004) requires a minimum of a master's degree in social work and the endorsement of a state-approved graduate school of social work to document that the individual has demonstrated proficiency in the seven standards for pupil services, specified in Code PI 34.04 (2004), and the Wisconsin school social work content guidelines.

Professional Development: Code PI 34.18 (2004) requires the completion of a professional development plan that demonstrates increased proficiency every five years for license renewal. The plan's completion is verified by a professional development team.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


West Virginia

Last Updated: 9/4/2008

Pre-service Requirement: None specified.

Professional Development: Board Policy 5500 (1997) establishes the general implementation of staff development activities for the 18 hours of job-related training required for all school personnel each school year.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Wyoming

Last Updated: 3/25/2012

Pre-service Requirement: Rule 3249, Chapter 11, Section 4 (1998) requires school social workers to have completed an advanced program in school social work that meets seven specific standards plus a supervised practicum in a recognized K-12 school setting.

Professional Development: Rule 5181, Chapter 15 (2003) requires five semester hours of credit and/or 75 clock hours of professional development for license renewal.

Student-to-Social Worker Ratio: None specified.


Print Page

Click the Print button to print only the content portion of the page. The left menu area and top header will not be printed